Training Pathway

Diagnostic Radiology

Entry Requirements

All applicants must hold at least 2 years clinical experience

All candidates must be registered or eligible for registration with the Irish Medical Council (

Duration & Organisation of Training

The duration of higher specialist diagnostic radiology is 5 years.

Approved Hospitals:

  • Beaumont Hospital, Dublin
  • St. Vincent’s University Hospital, Dublin
  • St. James Hospital, Dublin
  • Adelaide/Meath Hospital, Tallaght
  • Mater Misericordiae University Hospital, Dublin
  • Galway University Hospital
  • Cork University Hospital
  • Mercy University Hospital, Cork
  • University Hospital Waterford

Additional hospitals may be approved during the course of your training. Successful candidates may be required to rotate throughout Ireland.

The 5th year of training in diagnostic radiology is dedicated to a sub-specialty. These include:

  • Interventional Radiology
  • Cross Sectional Imaging
  • Chest Imaging
  • Neuroradiology
  • Breast Imaging
  • Cancer Imaging / PET CT
  • Musculoskeletal Radiology
  • Cardiovascular CT/MRI
  • Paediatric Radiology
  • CT/MR/US/Radioisotope Imaging

For more information on the training programme click here

 exams  How_to_apply

Leave a Reply