Radiologists are trained to assist other doctors and specialists to treat their patients by making a diagnosis and providing treatment using medical imaging. Radiologists  specialize in diagnosing and treating diseases and injuries using medical imaging techniques, such as x-rays, computed tomography (CT), magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), nuclear medicine, positron emission tomography (PET) and ultrasound.

A Radiologist requires a high level of expertise in the following areas:

  • Basic Sciences
  • Pathological Sciences
  • Clinical Radiology
  • Medico-legal Practice
  • Research
  • Clinical Audit

Radiologists can choose to work in various sub-specialties of radiology. In Ireland, the Radiology specialties which offer training programmes are:

  1. Diagnostic Radiology
  2. Radiation Oncology/Radiotherapy

Training Pathway in Radiology

Step 1 Step 2 Step 3 Step 4
Training Level Medical School Intern Year 2 years clinical experience Higher Specialist Training
Duration 4-6 years 1 year 2 years 5 years
Entry Process Graduate or direct entry Entry through the HSE Intern Match  N/A Entry through competitive interview
Application Date CAO process opens in November Application process opens in October  N/A Application process opens in October
Programme Operated by: Undergraduate Universities Intern Networks  N/A Faculty of Radiologists, RCSI

The Faculty of Radiologists, Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland is the training body responsible for provision of postgraduate training in Diagnostic Radiology and Radiation Oncology in Ireland.

At present, there are just under 100 Specialist Registrars in full time training with the Faculty, divided between Diagnostic Radiology and Radiation Oncology. Trainees are spread across 11 centres in diagnostic radiology and 3 in radiation oncology.

The Primary Fellowship exam, covering elements of basic science relevant to the specialties, is taken at the end of the first year’s training, and the Final Fellowship examination during the fourth year of training. After satisfactory completion of five years training and having passed the Fellowship exam, candidates are eligible for inclusion on the Specialist Register of the Medical Council of Ireland, and are eligible to apply for permanent consultant posts in their specialty.