Basic Specialty Training – Psychiatry

Psychiatry Training in Ireland comprises a streamlined career path through Basic Specialist Training (BST) and Higher Specialist Training (HST) including integrated opportunities for research and teaching.

The programme is operated and regulated by the College of Psychiatrists of Ireland under the aegis of the Irish Medical Council (IMC). The College of Psychiatrists is the only body recognised by the IMC to provide psychiatry training.

In 2012 the College of Psychiatrists of Ireland introduced a new Curriculum with continuous assessment which facilitates competency-based rather than time-based training. This allows for credit to be given to those entering Psychiatry training from other specialties and other jurisdictions and provides a mechanism for Trainees to accelerate through training based on competency.

Duration & Organisation of Training

As with other areas of medicine, there are a wide variety of sub-specialties in Psychiatry; for example focussing on working with adults, older people, children and adolescents, people with learning disabilities, those with addictions and those with combined mental and physical disorders.

The initial 4 years of specialist training (1 year foundation, 3 years BST) consist of 8 x 6 month clinical attachments providing exposure to these varied sub-specialties.

How to Apply

Entry to the Psychiatry Training Programme is advertised in the Medical Press each November and all application documentation is accessible from the College of Psychiatry website

There is a single national recruitment and successful applicants will be allocated to one of the 9 Deaneries, each of which is linked to a university. Allocation is based on applicant’s preference combined with ranking at interview.

Higher Specialist Training

Following successful completion of the Basic Specialty Training Programme trainees will move into their sub specialty area.   Trainees select further training in either adult or child and adolescent psychiatry.

In Ireland, psychiatry has four major areas of activity:

For more information on the training programme click here

For more information on how to apply click here

Leave a Reply