Clinical Microbiology

Training Pathway

There are four steps in the training pathway to become a specialist in Clinical Microbiology:

Step 1 – Medical School

Step 2 – Intern Year

Step 3 – Basic Specialty Training in Medicine

Step 4 – Higher Specialty Training in Clinical Microbiology

Higher Specialty Training

Following basic specialty training doctors may choose to continue training at higher specialist training level. Doctors must decide the specialty they wish to pursue.

The information below outlines important information about training in the specialty of Clinical Microbiology.

Entry Requirements

Applicants for Higher Specialist Training (HST) in Clinical Microbiology must have completed a minimum of two years Basic Specialist Training (BST) in approved posts and obtained the MRCPI or (UK*).

Duration & Organisation of Training

The duration of HST in Clinical Microbiology is 5 years, one year of which may be gained from a period of full-time research.

In the normal course of events, the Part I FRCPath will be taken after a minimum of twelve months training in Microbiology. The Part II FRCPath is taken after a minimum of three years of recognised training. However, this exam is under review and trainees are strongly urged to contact the RCPath in London for up-to-date advice.

Adequate experience in virology is required as part of the HST programme in Clinical Microbiology, however, this may be addressed as part of assignments to hospitals in which the General Clinical Microbiology service includes a substantial element of virology.

For more information on the training programme click here


Leave a Reply