Training Pathway

There are four steps in the training pathway to become a specialist in Haematology:

Step 1 – Medical School

Step 2 – Intern Year

Step 3 – Basic Specialty Training in Medicine

Step 4 – Higher Specialty Training in Haematology

Higher Specialty Training

Following basic specialty training doctors may choose to continue training at higher specialist training level. Doctors must decide the specialty they wish to pursue.

The information below outlines important information about training in the specialty of Haematology

Entry Requirements

Applicants for Higher Specialist Training (HST) in Haematology must have completed a minimum of two years Basic Specialist Training (BST) in approved posts and obtained the MRCPI or (UK*).

Duration & Organisation of Training

The duration of HST in Haematology is 5 years, one year of which may be gained from a period of full-time research.

No particular order or sequence of training will be imposed and programmes offered should be flexible i.e. capable of being adjusted to meet trainees’ needs. The earlier years will usually be directed towards acquiring a broad general experience of Haematology under appropriate supervision. An increase in the content of hands-on experience follows naturally, and, as confidence is gained and abilities are acquired, the trainee will be encouraged to assume a greater degree of responsibility and

For more information on the training programme click here


Leave a Reply