Occupational Medicine

Training Pathway


Higher Specialty Training

Following basic specialty training doctors may choose to continue training at higher specialist training level. Doctors must decide the specialty they wish to pursue.

The information below outlines important information about training in the specialty of Occupational Medicine.

Entry Requirements

Clinical experience is an important foundation for practice in Occupational Medicine.

There is no Basic Specialist Training programme in Occupational Medicine. If you want to train in this specialty you first need to meet the entry requirements for Higher Specialist Training in Occupational Medicine:

  • Completed Basic Specialist Training (or an equivalent programme) in General Internal Medicine (Candidates who have completed BST in other specialties may also be considered)
  • Or have completed an accredited training programme in General Practice

Candidates who haven’t passed the Membership of the Royal College of Physicians of Ireland (MRCPI) examination, or MRCP UK or MICGP (or equivalent) must provide evidence of knowledge, training and experience equivalent to these membership examinations.

Duration & Organisation of Training

Higher Specialist Training in Occupational Medicine is a four-year programme of structured, supervised training in Specialist Registrar (SpR) posts.

Your four-year programme will incorporate the following core elements:

  • At least 18 months in an industrial sector (e.g. heavy and light industry, engineering, electronics, manufacturing, pharmaceutical, chemical, transport)
  • A minimum of one year in the service sector (e.g. healthcare, financial services, insurance, office environment)

The experience gained by rotating through different units is an essential part of HST. For this reason, you will not be placed in the same unit for more than two years of training, or with the same trainer for more than one year.

You will be required to do work experience in units that offer a broad exposure to essential elements of Occupational Medicine. You will see about 400 occupational clinical cases each year, involving audiology, psychosocial, respiratory, dermatological, toxicological, rehabilitation, disability assessment and musculoskeletal conditions.


You are required to pass two exams during Higher Specialist Training: Licentiate of the Faculty of Occupational Medicine (LFOM) and Membership of the Faculty of Occupational Medicine (MFOM).

As well as being an essential requirement for a Certificate of Satisfactory Completion of Specialist Training (CSCST) in Occupational Medicine, passing the MFOM is also a requirement for doctors who want to become Members of the Faculty of Occupational Medicine.


  • You must pass both the LFOM and the MFOM in order to be eligible for a CSCST
  • You should aim to sit the LFOM at the end of your second year of HST
  • You are expected to obtain the MFOM by the end of your third year

For more information on the training programme click here


Leave a Reply