Rehabilitation Medicine

Training Pathway


Higher Specialist Training

Following basic specialty training doctors may choose to continue training at higher specialist training level. Doctors must decide the specialty they wish to pursue.

The information below outlines important information about higher training in the specialty of Rehabilitation Medicine.

Entry Requirements

Applicants for Higher Specialist Training (HST) in Rehabilitation Medicine must have completed a minimum of two years Basic Specialist Training (BST) in approved posts and obtained the MRCPI or (UK*).

Duration & Organisation of Training

The duration of HST in Rehabilitation Medicine is 4 years, one year of which may be gained from a period of full-time research.

Training rotations may include up to 1 year in (HST) approved posts in specialities such as Neurology, Rheumatology, Geriatric medicine and GIM. Some flexibility in training requirements with regard to
those with experience of other specialties may be shown particularly where there is evidence of transferable skills such as interdisciplinary teamwork and work with disabled people, carers, social services, and voluntary organisations.

The four-year Higher Specialist Training in Rehabilitation Medicine consists of Obligatory Experience and Optional Experience, each of which will be assessed formally, together with other aspects of training which can be acquired by short attachments or attendance at relevant courses or meetings. The outline of training is given below and described in detail in the specialty section of this

Core Training

1. Neurological Rehabilitation
Over a minimum period of 12 months trainees should gain experience in assessment and management of patients with single incident neurological injury and progressive neurological conditions

2. Spinal Injury
A 3 month attachment to a spinal unit is mandatory as minimum training. For those who will take responsibilities for such services a period of one year is recommended.

3. Musculoskeletal Rehabilitation
A minimum period of 6 months is required. Trainees should gain experience in the management of rheumatological and non-inflammatory joint disorders (particularly those acquired as a consequence of neurological injury), back pain, pain management, inflammatory joint disorders and metabolic bone disease

4. Prosthetics, orthotics, limb absence
A minimum period of 3 months is required. During this period all levels of amputation should be seen and experience gained at more than one centre. For those who will take responsibility for such
services, one year of training is recommended. Training in the following areas (5 – 10 below) will normally take place throughout the programme rather than for specified periods but details of the training received and completed satisfactorily,
countersign where appropriate, will be required for certification.

5. Wheelchairs and assistive technology
6. The rehabilitation process
7. Social and community aspects of rehabilitation
8. Psychosocial aspects of rehabilitation, disability and handicap
9. Organisational and managerial aspects of rehabilitation medicine
10. Environmental control systems and assistive technology
11. Driving for disabled people

For more information on the training programme click here


Leave a Reply