Palliative Medicine

Training Pathway


Higher Specialist Training

Following basic specialty training doctors may choose to continue training at higher specialist training level. Doctors must decide the specialty they wish to pursue.

The information below outlines important information about higher training in the specialty of Palliative Medicine.

Entry Requirements

Applicants for Higher Specialist Training (HST) in Palliative Medicine must have completed a minimum of two years Basic Specialist Training (BST) in approved posts and obtained the MRCPI or MRCP (UK*) or MRCGP or MICGP.

Duration & Organisation of Training

The four years of HST in Palliative Medicine are intended to produce fully trained Palliative Medicine physicians. The programmes will be flexible and designed to give opportunity for experience of the
various settings in which palliative medicine is practised, i.e. in specialist palliative care units, in hospitals or other major centres with academic activity, and community based settings.

It is essential that a period of three years full time is spent in clinical practice in specialist palliative care units or teams where a full range of services are provided in different settings, two years of which
must be in specialist palliative care units.

The experience gained through rotation around different departments is recognised as an essential part of HST. A Specialist Registrar may not remain in the same unit for longer than 2 years of clinical training; or with the same trainer for more than 1 year.

One year of training may be spent in posts in general medicine or other relevant specialities e.g. medical oncology, radiation oncology, infectious diseases, haematology, geriatric medicine, pain management or general practice, provided such posts are approved for higher medical training.

For more information on the training programme click here


Leave a Reply