Infectious Diseases

Training Pathway

Higher Specialist Training

Following basic specialty training doctors may choose to continue training at higher specialist training level. Doctors must decide the specialty they wish to pursue.

The information below outlines important information about higher training in the specialty of Infectious Diseases.

Entry Requirements

Applicants for Higher Specialist Training (HST) in Infectious Diseases must have completed a minimum of two years Basic Specialist Training (BST) in approved posts and obtained the MRCPI or (UK*).

Duration & Organisation of Training

The duration of HST in Infectious Diseases is 4 years, one year of which may be gained from a period of full-time research. Those who wish to obtain dual certification in Infectious Diseases and e.g. in General Internal Medicine will require at least a fifth year of training.

No particular order or sequence of training will be imposed and programmes offered should be flexible i.e. capable of being adjusted to meet trainees’ needs. The earlier years will usually be directed towards acquiring a broad general experience of Infectious Diseases under appropriate supervision.

An increase in the content of hands-on experience follows naturally, and, as confidence is gained and abilities are acquired, the trainee will be encouraged to assume a greater degree of responsibility and

If an intended career path would require a trainee to develop further an interest in a sub-specialty within Infectious Diseases (e.g. Hospital Epidemiology) this should be accommodated as far as possible within the training period, re-adjusting timetables and postings accordingly.

For more information on the training programme click here


Leave a Reply