Training Pathway


Higher Specialist Training

Following basic specialty training doctors may choose to continue training at higher specialist training level. Doctors must decide the specialty they wish to pursue.

The information below outlines important information about training in the specialty of Gastroenterology.

Entry Requirements

Applicants for Higher Specialist Training (HST) in Gastroenterology must have completed a minimum of two years Basic Specialist Training.

Duration & Organisation of Training

The duration of HST in Gastroenterology is 4 years, one year of which may be gained from a period of full-time research. Those who wish to obtain dual certification in Gastroenterology and in General
Internal Medicine will require at least a fifth year of training.

HST will provide experience in both teaching hospitals or other major centres with academic activity, and regional hospitals. The posts within the programme to which the trainee is appointed will have named consultant trainers.

Higher Specialist Training in Gastroenterology is divided into Core and Optional modules. The core module lasts two and a half years and includes twelve months of General (Internal)Medicine/Gastroenterology, including an adequate period spent on unselected emergency medical call.

The remaining 18 months will be spent in optional modules – each module usually lasting three to six months. Those trainees requiring dual accreditation will spend 30 months in Core options and 30 months in Option modules.

For more information on the training programme click here


Leave a Reply