General Internal Medicine deals with the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of adult diseases.  Doctors specialising in General Internal Medicine need expert knowledge of a wide range of common acute disorders due to the type of patients they encounter, and often have to manage seriously ill patients with undifferentiated or multi-system disease processes.

Training in Medicine is structured to allow for the opportunity to investigate several possible specialties before choosing a career path.

Training Pathway

Step 1 Step 2 Step 4 Step 5
Training Level Medical School Intern Year Basic Specialty Training in Medicine Higher Specialist Training
Duration 4-5 years 1 year 2 years 4-5 years depending on specialty
Entry Process Graduate or direct entry Entry through the HSE Intern Match Entry based on competitive interview Entry based on competitive interview
Mandatory Examinations As per curriculum N/A MRCPI Exam N/A
Application Date CAO process opens in November Application process opens in October Application process opens in December  Application process open in November
Programme Operated by: Undergraduate Universities Intern Networks RCPI RCPI

Training in General Internal Medicine is accredited by the Irish Committee on Higher Medical Training. The Irish Committee on Higher Medical Training (ICHMT) is the national postgraduate training body for General Internal Medicine. The ICHMT is based in the Royal College of Physicians of Ireland.

Basic Specialty Training

Basic Specialty Training (BST) is the first common period of Specialty Training following the intern year.  It is a structured two year training programme and trainees rotate through a number of specialties during this time.  Entry onto the programme is by competitive process, which will involve attending for interview.

Higher Specialist Training

When your BST programme is completed the next step is to move to a Higher Specialist Training (HST) programme.  HST is a structured, supervised clinical training programme. Entry onto the HST programme is competitive.  You rotate through pre-arranged posts in your chosen specialty every twelve or six months.

The subspecialty training programmes in Medicine you can choose to pursue at Higher Specialist Level are as follows.

  1. Cardiology
  2. Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics
  3. Clinical Genetics
  4. Dermatology
  5. Endocrinology & Diabetes Mellitus
  6. Gastroenterology
  7. General (Internal) Medicine
  8. Genito-Urinary Medicine
  9. Geriatric Medicine
  10. Infectious Diseases
  11. Medical Oncology
  12. Nephrology
  13. Neurology
  14. Palliative Medicine
  15. Rehabilitation Medicine
  16. Respiratory Medicine
  17. Rheumatology